Science Major

The requirements for a Bachelor of Science in Science appear in section 3 of the Academic Rules and Regulations for your cohort. 


Science majors must take 12 courses in the Science department to fulfill the major requirements. This includes any methodology courses coded 'UCSCI...'. Students may currently complete requirements with tracks in the following academic disciplines:

Methodology Requirements

Students must take all methodology courses required for their courses, thesis, and major. The courses coded "UCSCI..." count towards the 12 courses (of 7,5 EC) required for the BSc degree.

  • Major: 7.5 ECTS credits of science laboratory modules (3 x 2,5 EC) + 1 Mathematics course: UCACCMAT01, UCSCIMAT11 or UCSCIMAT14. UCACCMAT01 does not count towards the 12 courses for the major.
  • Courses: If applicable, methods requirements are stated in individual course outlines under the heading ‘prerequisites’.
  • Thesis: 7.5 ECTS credits of science laboratory courses, and a level 3 science course in the field of study. UCACCSTA21 Biostatistics is required for a thesis in BIO, COG, EAR and MED, but does not count towards the 12 courses for the major.

Lab modules on offer in the current academic year are listed with other science courses. You can find them in the Course Planner.

The Science department offers the following two dedicated programmes:

The DDLP program allows students to pursue a degree in Liberal Arts & Sciences and Physics in a combined programme of four years. The Pre-Med track is interesting for students who would like to continue with a medical Master's programme, such as SUMMA at Utrecht University. 


The Science Department employs three Science Student Assistants (SSAs) who are there to help students with questions regarding their course material, curriculum planning and research projects. Students can also share any remarks about their courses or teachers.

Office: Computer room, Newton H, ground floor, South (side of the building closest to Locke).

Microsoft Teams link


In Fall 2020 and Spring 2021, the Science Student Assistants are Yoldaş Cinemre, Linda Bijlard and Karel Zwetsloot (as TA for PHY21/6). Office hours are as follows:

Yoldaş (Physics, Maths, Cog Neuro) -

-Monday 19-21

-Tuesday 15-16

-Friday 16:15-17:15

Linda (Biology, Physics, Maths and Cog Neuro) - 

-Monday 16:15-18:15 (Biology, Cog neuro)

-Wednesday 12:00-14:00 (Physics and Maths)

Karel (only for questions regarding SCIMAT14 and PHY21/6) - Individual arrangement is required via email.

Depending on the situation of the pandemic, the office hours may switch between in person or online. Therefore, please keep an eye on the Science Student Assistants Facebook page and Microsoft Teams for announcements


Student representatives assume the role of the “antennas” of their respective track between the students and the department AAO. They are usually students taking courses and majoring in a certain track who will gain as much direct student input on the track and delegate the information to the departmental AAO, fellow or Head of Department. Due to this role of facilitating communications within the track, student representatives are legitimised and entitled to bringing forth ideas, initiatives and concerns about their track to the fellow and head of department. In the past, these included ideas of a thesis symposium event, track promotion events and new course collaborations with the fellows. 

For the academic year 2019–2020, the Science Student Representatives are:


The Science department has created guidelines to help you with searching for scientific information or to help you with writing a scientific paper. You can find these guidelines below.

Students can access scientific software such as Matlab and Mathematica for free. Find more information on which software is available and on how to get access.

Kees van Walree


Gabriël Beckers

Cognitive Neuroscience

Hugo de Boer

Earth and Environment

Maarten van Emst (Physiology) & Bas Defize (Molecular Cell Biology)


Viktor Blasjo


Koos Sanders

Medical Science

Alfons van Blaaderen (Fellow), Filipe Freire (Coordinator)