Social Sciences

Social Science Major

The requirements for a Bachelor of Arts in Social Science appear in section 3 of the Academic Rules and Regulations for your cohort. 


Social science majors must take 10 courses within the domain. Social science majors may currently complete requirements with tracks in the following academic disciplines:

Methodology Courses

Students must take all methodology courses required for their courses, thesis, and major: 

  • Major: UCACCMET12 Research in Practice, plus one at level 2 (see options below specified per field of study)
  • Courses: If applicable, methods requirements are stated in individual course outlines under the heading ‘prerequisites’.
  • Thesis: Each Social Science thesis requires a level 2 methodology course (see below). Contact the fellow about exceptions. E.g. if a student with an interdepartmental major has already taken the SCI methodology course UCACCSTA21, discuss if it can replace the courses below.

The methodology course options  for each field of studies are:

  • Anthropology: UCACCMET23 + module 2D or UCACCMET24
  • Economy: UCACCMET22 or UCACCMET23
  • Psychology: UCACCMET22 or UCACCMET23
  • Geography: UCACCMET22 or UCACCMET23 or UCACCMET24
  • Law: UCACCMET23 + module 2D or UCACCMET24 or UCACCMET25
  • Political Science: UCACCMET22 or UCACCMET23 or UCACCMET24 or UCACCMET25
  • Sociology: UCACCMET22 or UCACCMET23 or UCACCMET24

In 2019-2020 the module UCACCMET2D is not on offer.


It is also possible to do a minor in Methods & Statistics (MET).

Rhoda Woets


Charmaine Ramos

Economics (track coordinator)

Gery Nijenhuis


Diana Odier-Contreras Garduño & Bald de Vries


Kirsten Namesnik

Methods & Statistics

Guus de Krom


Gerard van der Ree

Political Science

Lotte Berk & Christel Lutz


Marco van Leeuwen