International travel is currently restricted due to COVID19. Please adhere to the travel advice before you make plans to travel abroad for exchange, research, an internship or a summer school. Note that some summer programmes on this page also offer online courses.


Are you interested in a unique international academic experience? Why not join a summer or winter school! This is a programme at a university in the Netherlands or abroad during the summer or winter break. In most cases, the credits earned will not count towards your degree at UU.

Utrecht Summer School

Via Utrecht Summer School (USS) you can apply for a wide variety of summer school courses. USS also has international partner Universities in the United Kingdom, Hong Kong, South Korea and Chile. This summer the USS Exchange partners offer various online courses. For these online programmes the fee is waived for UU students who are nominated by USS.


Click on a region below for a selection of universities with links to their summer school programmes. Some Univerisities also offer online courses. 


Graz: Graz University 
Vienna: Vienna University of Economics and Business


Antwerp: University of Antwerp 
Brussels: Vrije Universiteit Brussel Université Libre De Bruxelles
Leuven: KU Leuven

Czech Republic

BrnoMasaryk University 
PragueCharles University, Prague Summer School of JournalismSchola Empirica, Czech Technical University European Summer School 
TelčMasaryk University


Aarhus: Aarhus University
Copenhagen: Copenhagen Business School
Roskilde: Roskilde University


Tallinn: Tallinn University
Tartu: University of Tartu


Espoo: Aalto University
Helsinki: University of Helsinki 
Joensuu: University of Eastern Finland
Jyväskylä: University of Jyväskylä
Turku: University of Turku


Angers: University of Angers 
Grenoble: Université Grenoble Alpes
Nancy: Python4NLP
Nice: University Nice
Paris: Institut d'études politiques de Paris


Augsburg: University of Augsburg
Bayreuth: Universität Bayreuth 
Berlin: Humboldt University
Cologne: Universiät zu Koln
Frankfurt: European University Viadrina 
Hannover: Leibniz Universität Hannover
Mainz: Johannes Gutenberg University
Mannheim: University of Mannheim 
Marburg: Universität Marburg 
Munich: Munich University 
Osnabrück: Universität Osnabrück
Karlsruhe: Karlshochschule International University
Trier: University of Trier
Weimar: Bauhaus-Universität Weimar


Athens, Rome, Sint Petersburg and Florence: Zomerschool NWIB 
Nafplio: Olympia Summer Academy
Thessaloniki: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki 


Budapest: Eötvös Loránd University Eötvös Loránd University


Cork:  University College Cork
Maynooth: Maynooth University


Bologna: University of Bologna 
Iseo: I.S.E.O. Institute
Milan: Bocconi University, University of Milano-Bicocca, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore
Napels: Università degli Studi di Napoli L’Orientale
Rome: LUISS Summer University
Rome, Florence, Sint Petersburg and Athens: Zomerschool NWIB
Trento: University of Trento


Villnius:  Vilnius Summer School Mikolas Romeris University Transparency Interntional School on Integrity

The Netherlands

Amsterdam: University of Amsterdam, VU Amsterdam Summer School
Groningen: University of Groningen
Leiden: University Leiden
Maastricht: Maastricht University
Nijmegen: Radboud University
Tilburg: Tilburg University
Twente: University of Twente
Utrecht: Utrecht Summer School


Porto: Universidade Do Porto


Cluj Napoca: Babes-Bolyai University
Iasi: Universitatea Alexandru Ioan Cuza


Samara: Samara National Research University 
Sint Petersburg, Rome, Athene and Florence: Zomerschool NWIB, Nederlands Instituut Sint-Petersburg


Bratislava: Univerzita Komenského v Bratislave


Ljubljana: University of Ljubljana


Barcelona: Institut Barcelona d'Estudis Internacionals Universitat Pompeu Fabra Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Madrid: Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
Valencia: University of Valencia


Linköping: Linköping University


Basel: Institute for Peace and Dialogue
Bern: University of Bern
Zurrich: University of Zurich


Istanbul: Koç University

United Kingdom

Aberystwyth: Aberystwyth University
Birmingham: University of Birmingham
Bristol: University of Bristol
Cambridge: University of Cambridge
Canterbury: University of Kent
Glasgow: University of Glasgow 
Leeds: University of Leeds
Leicester: University of Leicester
Londen: Kingston University Queen Mary University of LondonUniversity College London, London School of Economics & Political Science 
Norwich: University of East Anglia
Nottingham: Nothingham Trent University
Oxford: Exeter College, Oriel College
Swansea: Swansea University
Warwick: University of Warwick


Various cities in Europe: Tulane Law School abroad


Edmonton (Alberta): University of Alberta 
Vancouver (British Colombia): University of British Columbia 


Santiago: Universidad de los Andes 


Lima: Universidad del Pacifico 

United States of America

Berkely: University of California
Boston: Boston College, Boston University
East Lansing (Michigan): Michigan State University 
Los Angeles: University of California
New Orleans: Tulane University
St. Louis (Missouri): Washington University


Brisbane: University of Queensland
Sydney: University of Sydney

New Zealand

Auckland: University of Auckland

South Africa

Cape Town: LSE-UCT
Stellenbosch: Stellenbosch Summer School

Rabat: Rabat Bussiness School 

Winter schools

Some universities offer courses during the winter break. You can find a small selection of universities with links to their winter school programmes below.


Vienna: Universität Wien


Adelaide: University of Adelaide
Sydney: University of Sydney


Prague: Charles University


Talinn: Talinn University


Estoo: Aalto University
Jyväskylä: University of Jyväskylä


Berlin: Humboldt University, Freie Universität Berlin
Freiburg im Breisgau: University of Freiburg

New Zealand

Auckland: University of Auckland


Seoul: Yonsei University


Taipei: National Taiwan University

The Netherlands

Amsterdam: University of Amsterdam, VU Amsterdam

United States of America

Boston: Boston College