• Every student is allocated personal storage space for files, known as the U drive. The U drive is automatically available from every university workstation.
  • You have 1 GB of storage space; it is not possible to request extra storage.
  • If you are logged in to a university computer you can see how much space you still have available on your U drive: go to File Explorer and right-click on your U drive. Then click on "Properties".

We are unable to recover lost or deleted files or folders for you. You can however restore previous versions of files or folders yourself. A Previous Version is a snapshot of your U drive at a certain point in time. This snapshot is made twice a day and can be accessed for a maximum of eight weeks afterwards.

Click on the file or folder that you want to restore to an earlier time. Right-click on the file or folder and select the tab "Previous Versions". Then click on the version you wish to restore.

Tip: Have you completely deleted a file, so that you no longer have a previous version? Then one option is to restore a previous version of the entire folder which contained the file. You can even restore a previous version of your entire U drive. Your file will then be automatically restored, but take care that you do not replace other, newer files with older versions!

If you are experiencing problems with your U drive, check whether you have the same problem at another workstation, or restart your computer. If the problem persists, please contact us.

You can use your personal U drive on your own laptop, phone or tablet. All you need is an internet connection.

 

Instructions on how to do so, can be found on our manual website.

Like to know more about IT?

See all IT facilities or contact us for help.