Moira de Kok and Jarne van der Poel win 2022-2023 thesis awards

Annelies Andries, receiving the award for Moira de Kok, and Jarne van der Poel at the presentation of the Humanities Faculty Thesis Awards 2022-2023

The winners of the best Master's thesis and Research Master's thesis are Jarne van der Poel and Moira de Kok. The prizes were awarded during the opening of the faculty year Humanities 2023-2024.

The prize for the best Master's thesis went to Jarne van der Poel, who is studying History of Politics and Society. He examined the privatisation of the Dutch social housing sector during the government periods of Prime Minister Ruud Lubbers and State Secretary Enneüs Heerma (1982-1994).

Moira de Kok, who is studying Musicology, won the prize for the best Research Master's thesis. She wrote about the intertwining of solidarity as a political concept and musical practices, with a focus on pop music during the British miners' strike of 1984-85.

» Read the interview with Moira and Jarne and the jury report
» Watch the video in which all the nominees explain their theses