The department of Law has two Study Programme Committees, one for the Bachelor Degree and one for the Masters Degree. Each committee consists of professors and sudents, with the latter in general being appointed for the duration of one academic year. Both committees meet eight times a year.

Tasks of Study Programme Committees
The primary task of the Study Programme Committee is to ensure the education is of decent quality.  As an advisory body, the Committee gives asked, and unasked, advice to the board of education and its director, with regard to all aspects of education, including, but not limited to, Education and Examination Regulations. Problems put forwards by students and/or staff are discussed in the Committee.

The student delagation protects the interest of all Law students by making a critical assessment of the quality and content of the programme, for instance by evaluating the education. They do this by using the results of surveys/course evaluations which are conducted at the end of each course. Furthermore, they participate in the Student Consultation Representative Advisory Committee that, for example, has frequent meetings with study associations.

An overview of the tasks and rights of the Study Programme Committees can be found in the Manual/Handbook Study Programme Committees Law (currently only available in Dutch).

Complaints and Remarks
In order to adequately perform the aforementioned tasks, it is important that students have the opportunity to bring forward complaints and remarks to the student members of the Programme Committees. D0 you have a complaint or suggestion with regard to the courses, university facilities or another relevant subject? Do not hesitate to contact us!

Degree Programme Committee Bachelor 2017-2018

Members
Prof. mr. Linda Senden
Master European Law
IER
L.A.J.Senden@uu.nl

Prof. dr. Dina Siegel
Master Global Criminology
Strafrecht
D.Siegel@uu.nl

Dr. Rianka Rijnhout LLM
Master NR, Privaatrecht
Privaatrecht
R.Rijnhout@uu.nl

Mr. dr. W. van der Woude
Master NR, Staats- en Bestuursrecht
SBR
W.vanderWoude@uu.nl

Prof. mr. Francois Kristen
Master NR, Strafrecht
Strafrecht
F.G.H.Kristen@uu.nl

Prof. mr. drs. Jan Biemans
Master Notarieel recht
Privaatrecht
J.W.A.Biemans@uu.nl

Dr. S.A. Kruisinga
Master Onderneming en recht
Privaatrecht
S.A.Kruisinga@uu.nl

Prof. dr. Cedric Ryngaert
Master Public International Law
IER
C.M.J.Ryngaert@uu.nl

Prof. mr. J.H. Gerards
Legal Research Master
SBR
j.h.gerards@uu.nl

Chairman Prof. mr. dr. Anna Gerbrandy
Master Law and Economics
IER
A.Gerbrandy@uu.nl

Studentmembers

Roemer Sijmons
Master European Law
r.j.sijmons@students.uu.nl

Anne van Leeuwen
Master Global Criminology
a.m.vanleeuwen@students.uu.nl

Nour Khachnaoui
Master Law and Economics
n.khachnaoui@students.uu.nl

Kris Soomers
Master Privaatrecht
krissoomers@hotmail.com

Guillaume Honsbeek
Master Staats- en Bestuursrecht
g.c.honsbeek@uu.nl

Karlijn van den Boomen
Master Strafrecht
k.vandenboomen@students.uu.nl

Anna Nagel
Master Notarieel recht
a.m.w.nagel@students.uu.nl

Jorrit Sijl
Master Onderneming en recht
j.g.sijl@uu.nl

Eva Bernet Kempers
Master Public International Law
e.m.bernetkempers@students.uu.nl

Max Vetzo
Legal Research Master
M.J.Vetzo@uu.nl

ocmasters.rechten@uu.nl

Other, no member

Yaël Boekhout
Student-member
Bestuur departement Rechtsgeleerdheid
y.boekhout@students.uu.nl

Prof. mr. Frans Pennings
Onderwijsdirecteur masters
Bestuur departement Rechtsgeleerdheid
F.Pennings@uu.nl

Laura van Drie
Ambtelijk secretaris
Onderwijsbeleid Rechtsgeleerdheid
L.vanDrie@uu.nl

 

 

 

The School of Law is working hard to monitor and improve the quality of its education continually. That is why we feel it is very important for students to give us their views, and it is here that course evaluations play a major role. In order to obtain a good and representative picture, it is important that enough students participate in course evaluations. So please fill in the evaluation as soon as you have received it!

The Director of Studies uses the course evaluations to check that the courses meet the necessary quality requirements. The evaluations also give teaching staff the opportunity to receive feedback on the various aspects of the course, such as tests, prescribed literature, forms of teaching etc.

Privacy

The testing service of the Centre for Teaching and Learning (COLUU) conducts the evaluation. Staff at the testing service and the School of Law cannot trace back the respondents’ answers to an individual student. The evaluation programme uses the mail addresses supplied only to send invitations and reminders.

Procedure

  • Once you have received your invitation by email, log in and participate anonymously in the course evaluation.
  • After a few weeks the evaluation will be closed and an evaluation report drawn up.
  • Following this report, the course coordinator will draft a detailed response to the Director of Studies.
  • Together with the teaching staff’s responses, the Director of Studies will assess all the reports and present them to the Education Committees.
  • In the Education Committee students and staff will be given the opportunity to respond to the evaluations.
  • If the results give reason for this, the Director of Studies will contact the course coordinator concerned to make agreements about plans for improvement. The course will be re-evaluated at the next evaluation, when the Director of Studies will check that the agreements made have been met.
  • The results of the evaluations can be viewed via the evaluation programme. Often the course coordinator will write a response to the evaluation for students. You will receive this automatically by email, enabling you to find out what action is being taken following the course evaluation.

Give your opinion

  • By filling in the course evaluations you can give points for improvement for specific courses;
  • In the National Student Survey (NSE), you can give your opinion on all aspects of the programme and Utrecht University’s facilities;
  • Visit the student representative in the representative advisory body (provided in the yellow drop-box) and present your suggestion;
  • Do you have a complaint or objection? See Complaints, objections and appeals.

If you want to get involved in the board of a governing or representative body at Utrecht University, you may qualify for financial support from the University in the form of a compensation for board activities.

The University Council is the central representative body of Utrecht University. The Council serves the interests of students and staff.

More information is available: University Council.