To guarantee the quality of the programme as best as possible, professors, management and students work together closely on various boards and committees. Further information about this subject is available on this page. An overview is contained in the organisation chart (pdf) for the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences.

If you would like to know more about the opportunities for student participation and involvement, there is comprehensive information on the website of the Student Consultative Body (in Dutch).

The Faculty Council is the consultative body for personnel and students at the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences. The Council serves as the dean’s discussion partner with regard to governance / administrative measures and organisational issues.

Subject meetings

Recurring issues such as the faculty budget and the establishment of the degree programme and exam regulations appear on the Council’s agenda each year. There is also discussion of diverse current issues that occur during the course of the year. The Faculty Council meetings are open to the public.

Lunch consultation hour

Once a month, students and employees can have a light lunch with members of the Faculty Board and Faculty Council and ask questions about education, research and policy matters. 


The Council has consultation rights and voting rights. The Council’s competencies and manner of working are laid down in the faculty regulations and the procedural regulations, which are based on the Higher Education and Scientific Research Act (Wet op het Hoger onderwijs en Wetenschappelijk onderzoek or WHW).

Size and tiers

The Faculty Council consists of fourteen members, seven student members and seven personnel members. The size is specified by law and depends on the size of the faculty. The Council has two tiers: a personnel tier and a student tier. These tiers also meet separately with the dean about issues with which the relevant tier has particular competency.

Personnel and student tier competencies

The members of the personnel tier have a say on issues such as employment terms and conditions, general personnel policy, organisational issues within the faculty and employment conditions at faculty level. The members of the student tier have a say on student policy and remunerations for students.


The Council can choose a Chairperson from its ranks, or it can select an independent Chairperson. The Faculty Council of the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences appoints an independent Chairperson. This Chairperson can be reappointed.


Elections occur annually in the spring. All employees can put themselves forward for election, and all employees are also eligible to vote. The Student Consultative Body and possibly other student groups are responsible for the student elections.

The Board of Studies is a consultation body consisting of the vice-deans and the directors of Bachelor’s programmes / one-year Master’s programmes / two-year research Master’s coordinators.

There are three Boards of Studies, one for the Undergraduate School (the Bachelor’s programmes) and two for the Graduate School (one for the one-year Master's programmes and one for the two-year Research Master's programmes).


The Boards of Studies have the following tasks:

  • exchanging information on behalf of faculty (strategic) policy and education policy;
  • discussing faculty policy with a view to decision making;
  • coordinating faculty policy and education policy;
  • monitoring the implementation of faculty policy;
  • discussing the results of the education policy.


Johanneke Verhage, Jaap Meeuwissen, Bart Weerdenburg:

The Educational Committee is the  consultative body on educational matters. There are three Educational Committees: one for the Bachelor’s programmes (Undergraduate School) and two for the Master’s programmes (Graduate School).

The Educational Committees advise the Boards of Studies on matters concerning the Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes, both when asked and on their own initiative. They advise about the programme quality, organisation and policy, and have a say in parts of the Education and Examination Regulations.


Lecturers and students are represented in the Educational Committees. The Educational Committee consists of:

Undergraduate School

  • six lecturers and six students

Graduate School

  • One-year Master's programmes: six lectures and six students
  • Two-year research Master's programmes: seven lecturers and seven students



Johanneke Verhage, Jaap Meeuwissen, Bart Weerdenburg:


Educational Committee Chamber (OC kamer)

Every bachelor’s degree programme has an Educational Committee Chamber. All the chambers together form the Educational Committee.

The chambers provide the directors of Bachelor’s degree programmes with both solicited and unsolicited advice about the Bachelor’s programmes. They advise about the degree programme quality, organisation and policy, and have a say in parts of the Education and Examination Regulations that concerns their programme.

Lecturers and students are represented in the chambers.

Programme Advisory Committee (PAC)

Each Master’s programme has a Programme Advisory Committee. Representatives from the one-year Master’s PACs form the Educational Committee for the one-year Master's programmes. Representatives from the two-year (Research) Master’s PACs form the Educational Committee for the Research Master's programmes.


Contact the student tier if you have a question for the Educational Committee Chamber or the Programme Advisory Committee. The email addresses of all student tiers are listed below.

Educational Committee Chambers (OC kamers):

Student tier Email adress
OC Kamer Algemene Sociale Wetenschappen
OC Kamer Culturele Antropologie
OC Kamer Onderwijswetenschappen
OC Kamer Pedagogische Wetenschappen
OC Kamer Psychologie
OC Kamer Sociologie

Programme Advisory Committees:

Student tier Email adress
PAC Cultural Anthropology (one-year Master)
PAC Educational Sciences (one-year Master)
PAC Interdisciplinary Social Sciences (one-year Master)
PAC Pedagogy (one-year Master)
PAC Psychology (one-year Master)
PAC Sociology (one-year Master)
PAC Cultural Anthropology (two-year Research Master)
PAC Educational Sciences (two-year Research Master)
PAC Interdisciplinary Social Sciences (two-year Research Master)
PAC Methodology and Statistics (two-year Research Master)
PAC Pedagogy (two-year Research Master)
PAC Psychology (two-year Research Master)
PAC Sociology (two-year Research Master)

More information (in Dutch)

Course evaluation

All Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences courses are evaluated by students and are discussed in the Programme Committees. 

Degree programme evaluation

All Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences degree programmes are periodically evaluated by a review committee. This committee was set up by the VSNU. The Quality Assurance Netherlands Universities (QANU) Foundation has supervised these activities since 2004. The review committee’s reports are available on

All graduating students are also requested to evaluate their degree programme in a curriculum evaluation. The corresponding results are discussed in the Programme Committees and Boards of Studies.

OER Foundation

The Stichting Onderwijs en Evaluatie Rapport (Education and Evaluation Report Foundation, website in Dutch) is an independent foundation that looks into the quality of education at Utrecht University. The organisation is fully run by students. One aspect is reviewed each year. The review is conducted by means of student surveys.

Quality assurance

The Gids Interne Kwaliteitszorg Sociale Wetenschappen (in Dutch, pdf) describes the internal quality assurance of the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences.