Faculty Council Social and Behavioural Sciences - 2023 Elections

It is election time for the Faculty Council. This election year both staff members (term 2023-2025) and student members (term 2023-2024) will be elected.

In recent weeks, both student members and staff members have been busy looking for new candidates to join the Faculty Council and to take over from their predecessors.

At a public meeting on April 24, 2023, the Faculty of Social Sciences Elections Committee decided that the following candidates were valid. The order of the lists is based on information supplied from the sections.


List Pegel

  1. E. (Ellen) Reitz
  2. N.K. (NoƩmi) Schuurman
  3. M.J. (Martijn) Mulder
  4. R.C. (Reine) van der Wal
  5. K.L. (Kirsten) Buist
  6. S.C. (Sanne) de Bos
  7. J.J. (Jacqueline) van Lier

From the submitted lists of candidates for the Staff Section it appeared that for the Faculty Council FSW there are as many candidates as seats. As a result, there will be no elections for the staff section this year.



  1. Y. (Ylana) Optekamp
  2. M.Y. (Mel) Stronk
  3. M. (Maartje) Stam
  4. M. (Ming) Peters
  5. B.M.J. (Britt) Keulen
  6. C.M.F. (Claire) Bruls
  7. R.J. (Rik) van Huizen
  8. A.I. (Anne Ing) Ligtvoet

The submitted lists of candidates for the student section showed that for the Faculty Council FSW there are more candidates than seats. Therefore, elections will be held for the student section this year. The elections will take place from May 8 to 10, 2023.

The Elections Committee would like to raise the attention to the important role the Faculty Council has within the faculty community. It is the participation body for staff and students. The council is empowered to consult with the dean on all faculty matters. The council has the right of consent on a number of important decisions made by the dean, such as the adoption of the faculty regulations and the Education and Examination Regulations (TER).

The Faculty Council of the Faculty of Social Sciences consists of seven staff members and seven student members and is chaired by Toon Taris. They meet nine times a year.

Important dates

  • Monday 8 to Wednesday 10 May 2023: vote
  • Friday 12 May 2023: adoption of election results in public session from 11:00 am to 11.30 am in the Faculty Room (Langeveld E3.14)


If you have any questions, please send an email to: kiescommissieFSW@uu.nl.