Western Sydney University (AEN)

Western Sydney University is a universitywide partner in Sydney, Australia. You can study at Western Sydney University through the AEN program. There is no direct (bilateral) exchange agreement with Western Sydney University, so you will have to apply for AEN if you want to study there.

The AEN program (Australian European Network) consists of a group of 5 Australian universities. Utrecht doesn’t exchange with these universities directly, but via AEN. You will have to choose AEN as the option in Osiris.

If you are applying for the AEN program, you need to mention the top three AEN universities of your choice in your motivation letter, which needs to be uploaded in Osiris. The AEN Netwerk decides for which university you will be selected, there is a chance you will not be placed at your preferred AEN university, but at your second or third choice university instead.

How to apply in Osiris:

Check the application procedure and deadlines
When applying in Osiris choose:
- Country: Australia
- City: Other
- Institution: Australian-European Network (AEN)


Student experiences

Download the student experiences


General information for exchange students

Course information

Social media



Introducing Western Sydney University (YouTube)

Academic calendar

Semester I: 1st week of March - last week of June
Semester II: Last week of July - 3rd week of November

Orientation generally commences mid-February for Semester I and in the 2nd week of July for Semester II.

Exams take place the last two weeks of June for Semester I and the 2nd and 3rd week of November for Semester II.

Areas of study open to exchange students

All subjects, except the following:

  • Medicine, Occupational Therapy and some Allied Health courses (require to be assessed prior to approval).
  • Psychology postgraduate units are closed. All undergraduate units in psychology will need to be approved by the school.

GPA (Average Grade)

There is no GPA requirement for this destination.

English Language Requirement

An IELTS or PTE test.

Students enrolled in a fully English taught Bachelor or Master programme (for example UCU), can provide a letter attesting to the fact that their degree is taught and assessed entirely in English. 
The language requirements must be met at the moment of application to the host university.

Please check the most recent language requirements on the website of the host university.

Courses at Master’s level


Language of instruction


Housing assistance

On-campus accommodation is provided by Western Sydney University Village. Availability is not guaranteed, bus is highly likely. 

The website also offers information on nearby off-campus accommodation.

Support is available when finding residence is difficult.

General information on accommodation

Estimated living costs per month

The average costs of living per month for a student living on-campus are around 1,800 AUD. (Estimate from 2022)

You can find a more detailed breakdown of the living costs here.

Overseas Health Cover is compulsory and is about $400 per year. 

More information


You can find information on this university’s credits in the credit conversion table

Number of places available

6 places per year for the AEN network in total.


Selection for the AEN program was necessary in 2023-2024, but not often in the years before.

Other AEN Network universities

Griffith University (Brisbane)
Edith Cowan University (Perth)
University of Wollongong
University of Tasmania (Hobart)



If you have any questions about this universitywide partner university, contact the universitywide International Office:

Asia, Latin America & Middle East

Name: Ms. Clim Gorissen
E-mail: region1@uu.nl

North America & UK

Name: Ms. Cathelijne van Weelden
E-mail: region2@uu.nl

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa & Spain*

Name: Ms. Tessel Arendsen
E-mail: region3@uu.nl

* Universidad Complutense de Madrid and Universitat de Barcelona


Name: Ms. Mandy van den Houten
E-mail: region4@uu.nl

photo of Patrick Chan

General exchange questions

Name: Patrick Chan
Email: exchange@uu.nl

Erasmus+ grant questions

The International Office can only help you with questions related to the content of your Learning Agreement and with signing documents on behalf of the Sending Institution.

For all other Erasmus+ grant related questions, please refer to the Erasmus+ grants for Studies page (scroll down to “Contact the Erasmus Office” to make an appointment) or send an e-mail to erasmus@uu.nl

For questions about faculty programmes and internships, contact the Faculty International Offices.

Phone availability

Phone: +31 (0)30-2531224
Office hours for calling: Monday and Thursday, 13:30-15:00

Make an appointment via Teams

We are available for appointments via Teams. If you have a question, use the calendar below to make an appointment.

If you are unable to make it to your appointment, please do not forget to cancel.