Edith Cowan University (Perth) (AEN)

Edith Cowan University (Perth) is a universitywide partner in Perth, Australia. You can study at any of ECU's three campuses through the AEN program. There is no direct (bilateral) exchange agreement with ECU, so you will have to apply for AEN if you want to study there.

The AEN program (Australian European Network) consists of a group of 5 Australian universities. Utrecht doesn’t exchange with these universities directly, but via AEN. You will have to choose AEN as the option in Osiris.

If you are applying for the AEN program, you need to mention the top three AEN universities of your choice in your motivation letter, which needs to be uploaded in Osiris. The AEN Netwerk decides for which university you will be selected, there is a chance you will not be placed at your preferred AEN university, but at your second or third choice university instead.

How to apply in Osiris:

Check the application procedure and deadlines
When applying in Osiris choose:
- Country: Australia
- City: Other
- Institution: Australian-European Network (AEN)

Student experiences

Download the student experiences


International home page

Course information

Social media



Explore ECU in 360 degrees (YouTube)

Academic calendar

Semester I: 3rd or 4th week of February – 3rd week of June
Semester II: 4th week of July – 3rd or 4th week of November

Orientation week commences generally mid-February for semester I and mid-July for semester II.

Exams take place mid-June for semester I and mid-November for semester II.

Areas of study open to exchange students

All courses and units as indicated on the website, in the Handbook and shown as offered in the particular semester on the teaching timetable (excluding some units offered by WAAPA – WA Performing Arts Academy). Students must meet any prerequisite(s) that a unit has.


Exchange students must have completed at least one full time year for undergraduates and one full time semester for postgraduates at their home institution and meet ECU’s English entry requirements.

Students can take a maximum of 60 credit points/semester, which is considered a normal full-time semester study load (for student concession rates on transport, 45 credit points is still considered full time). Units are generally worth 15 credit points however there are some exceptions. Please consult the Handbook to check how many credit points a unit is worth.

Courses at Master’s level

Yes, however students must be studying at Master’s level and have completed at least one full-time semester at their home institution. Students will need to meet any prerequisite(s) that a unit has.

Language of instruction


Housing assistance

Accomdation is available at the ECU Village on the Joondalup, Mount Lawley and Bunbury campuses. Standard undergraduate units contain 6 single, lockable bedrooms with 2 bathrooms and a communal kitchen and living area.

Bedrooms are equipped with bed, study desk/chair, lamp, bookshelves, built in wardrobe, drawers, mirror and electric heater.

More information

Estimated living costs per month

An estimation of the living costs


You can find information on this university’s credits in the credit conversion table

Number of places available

6 places per year for the AEN network in total.

Other AEN Network universities

University of Western Sydney
Griffith University (Brisbane)
University of Wollongong
University of Tasmania (Hobart)

The skyline of Perth, with a few sky scrapers and smaller office towers.



If you have any questions about this universitywide partner university, contact the universitywide International Office.