NL Scholarship

formerly known as Holland Scholarship

The NL Scholarship is for students of Utrecht University who are:

  1. Going to study, conduct research or follow an apprenticeship at one of the strategic partners of Utrecht University (Chinese University of Hong Kong, University of Sydney, University of Toronto).
  2. Going to non-EEA (non-Erasmus, or SEMP for Switzerland) partner destinations and meet the scholarship conditions. Remaining scholarships will be raffled among this group of students.

The scholarship consists of a one-time amount of € 2,500 and is a contribution to your study costs.


  • You are enrolled as a full-time student at Utrecht University;
  • Your study, research or apprenticeship abroad will take place in the academic year 2024-2025, has a minimum duration of 7 weeks and will earn you a minimum of 10 ECTS;
  • Your study, research or apprenticeship will not take place in your home country;
  • You have (almost) no study delay and the courses you will take will count for your bachelor or master programme.
  • Your average study progress is 52,5 ECTS per year.

If you apply, but do not meet these conditions, please refer to this arrangement in the Profiling Fund: English version, Dutch version.

How to Apply

Students who have been selected for eligible destinations will be informed via e-mail between March and May 2024 with instructions on when and how to apply in Osiris. Students that are going abroad for research or an apprenticeship will also be included if they have an approved stay abroad registered in Osiris. The application process for the NL Scholarship 2024-2025 will open on May 1st, 2024 and the deadline for submitting your application is June 14th, 2024 at 23.59.

What is the NL Scholarship?

The NL Scholarship is a scholarship provided by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science as well as Dutch colleges and universities. The scholarship is intended for students who want to study, do research or follow an apprenticeship outside the European Economic Area (EEA). The EEA consists of the EU, Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway.

The NL Scholarship is made available by:

This procedure is subject to the Executive Board appeals procedure.