Utrecht University participates in the Erasmus+ programme and holds an Erasmus+ Charter for Higher Education.

What is the Erasmus+ programme?

The Erasmus+ programme makes it possible to follow part of your study programme at a partner university within the European Union or to do an traineeship at a foreign institution. Erasmus+ aims to promote international student mobility by offering scholarships for study and traineeships.

If your traineeship or study abroad period takes place within Europe, you may qualify for a mobility grant under the Erasmus+ Programme. The grant is a contribution to cover additional travel and living costs abroad. The amount of the award depends on the length of your mobility period and the country of destination.


All member countries of the European Union participate in Erasmus+, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Turkey and the overseas territories of all these countries. However, eligibility of actual destinations depends on the agreements the university or your faculty has made with institutions and companies abroad. Switzerland has created an alternative structure: they offer grants in the context of the 'Swiss-European Mobility Programme'.


If you're going to the UK in semester 2 of academic year 2021-2022, you can still apply for an Erasmus+ grant. For more information and the adjusted application procedure, please see the specific information for Erasmus+ Studies and Erasmus+ Traineeships. More information regarding grants for UK-destinations in 2022-2023 will follow soon. Please keep an eye on these pages in the upcoming months.

For general information and the latest updates regarding Brexit, see: www.students.uu.nl/brexit.

Disclaimer: The information above is provided by Utrecht University; the National Agency Erasmus+ and the European Commission take no responsibility for the contents.